From Guild of Recappers & Podcasters
Jump to navigation Jump to search

The Wizards series of books loosely follow the adventures of the wizards of Unseen University - specifically the senior faculty working under Archchancellor Mustrum Ridcully. Rincewind becomes a member of the faculty around the time of Interesting Times, though that book only involves the wizards as bookends.


For our purposes, the Wizards series of books comprises six novels[1], one short story and the Science of Discworld books:

Most of the books also cross over with other sub-series, notably those of Rincewind, Death and Susan. Members of the faculty - especially Archchancellor Ridcully - also make appearances in many other books, including Jingo, Men at Arms, Interesting Times, The Truth, The Last Hero, Night Watch, Going Postal, Thud!, Making Money and The Shepherd's Crown.

Official Wizards series

As of 50 Years of Terry, the Discworld books have been more or less official sorted into non-overlapping series. According to this categorisation, there are seven books in the "Wizards series" - which is really what we'd call the Rincewind series, plus Unseen Academicals. They classify Moving Pictures as a standalone book; Reaper Man, Soul Music and Hogfather as part of the Death series; and don't include the Science of Discworld books.

The official Wizards series, therefore, is:

External links


  1. This is up for debate; Interesting Times and The Last Hero are definitely Rincewind books, but the faculty make significant contributions in each and so they might also be considered Wizards books by some. Also while other characters drive much of the plot in Moving Pictures, it is often considered by fans a Wizards book as it introduces Ridcully and the main faculty for the University who appear in the rest of the series. Though see also Industrial Revolution and Ankh-Morpork.
  2. Note that terrypratchettbooks.com doesn't specific any book as the fourth in the series, but the new 50 Years of Terry editions clearly mark it as belonging to this series. It has a new audiobook alongside the others, but doesn't seem to be getting a new print edition, possibly because it's too short without the illustrations?